Eye-Popping, Show-Stopping Libraries: Fifty Years of the AIA/ALA Library Building Awards

The Library Building Awards, created in 1963 as a joint endeavor by the American Institute of Architects (AIA), the American Library Association (ALA), and the National Book Committee (NBC), is a regular, ongoing, juried award program that recognizes excellence in library design. During the more than half century that awards have been given, nearly two hundred and fifty libraries have been recognized. This presentation will review the development of the Library Building Awards program and discuss a selection of award-winning libraries, as a way to document the transformation of library services as well as portray the evolution of library design.

The event is finished.


Oct 09 2021


2:00 pm - 3:00 pm




  • Anders Dahlgren
    Consulting Librarian, Library Planning Associates, Inc.
  • Charles Forrest
    Charles Forrest
    Principal & Owner, 21st Century Libraries Consulting

    Charles Forrest has more than thirty-five years of experience in academic and research libraries. After nearly a decade with the University of Illinois libraries in both Chicago (UIC) and Urbana-Champaign (UIUC), he went to Emory University in 1988 where he served as library project manager for many construction and renovation projects, until he retired in 2016. Active professionally at the local, state, national and international level, Charles has served three times as a library juror for the AIA/ALA Library Building Awards. He is currently principal and owner of 21st Century Libraries Consulting (21CLC).